ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the 10th Cricket World Cup. It was played in India, Sri Lanka, and in for the first time Bangladesh. India was won the tournament, by defeating to Sri-Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, thus becoming the first country to win the Cricket World Cup final on home soil. India's Yuvraj Singh was declared as the man of the tournament. And this was the first time in World Cup history that 2 Asian teams had appeared in the final. It was the 1st time since the 1992 World Cup that the final match did not feature Australia.

14 national cricket teams took part in this tournament, including ten full members and four associate members of the ICC. The opening ceremony was held on 17th February 2011 at Bangabandhu National StadiumDhaka, and the tournament was played between 19 February and 2 April. The first match was played between India & Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.
Pakistan also was also scheduled to be the co-host, but after the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) cancelled it, and the headquarters of the organizing committee, originally in Lahore, was transferred to Mumbai. Pakistan was to have held fourteen matches, including one semi-final. Eight of the games (including the semi-final) were awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka, and two to Bangladesh.

Prize Money Of The ICC World Cup 2011

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 winning team would be taking home a prize money of US$3 million and US$1.5 million for runner-up, with the International Cricket Council deciding to double the total allocation for the tournament to US dollar d8.01 million. The winning team will take home a replica of the ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy, that has been awarded since 1999. The decision was taken at the ICC Board meeting which was held in Dubai on 20th April 2010.
  • US$250,000 – To each team exiting after the quarter-finals (4 teams)
  • US$500,000 – Third placed team & Fourth placed team
  • US$1,500,000 – Runner up
  • US$3,250,000 – Winner

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post